Serendipity

Hakata Wharf

I feel stupid for not exploring the hidden beauty of the wharf just across the street from my place.  I didn’t even realize that the main the wharf across the street is the main Hakata Wharf, which makes it as important as Gateway of India in Mumbai. Yup! I live in a freaking posh area 🙂 But I didn’t know that until this weekend. Actually, I do have a reasonable excuse for my ignorance: First, I didn’t know there was a wharf and Second, It’s so windy and cold across the street. The other day when I discovered it, the temperature was -2 degrees and I found it because I wanted to see snow on the beach. It’s kind of weird because It would never snow in the coastal cities in India but here it does, right across the street. Coming back to my excuse, the ‘Feels Like’ factor suggested it to be -8 degrees due to strong winds. The point I am making is that it’s freaking cold there. Lol

Cafe at Hakata Wharf

Let’s talk about the place. It’s a beautiful wharf where I can catch a ferry to various islands (I think including Okinawa and Korea too). I would have better knowledge about it soon when I start making my voyagers in East Asia during the holidays in March. The wharf has a beautiful (and Warm) indoor shopping market, a cultural center, medium size aquarium (it has sharks too), and loads of reasonably priced Japanese/Korean food restaurants. I think I have found my hangout area for summers already; can’t wait for the summers now 🙂

 

~ by pankajsingla9 on January 18, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
